Short shorts

So-called "butt cleavage."

So-called “butt cleavage.”

A couple of the countries I lived in during my time abroad, especially those in Africa, were fairly traditional. In Somaliland, a conservative Muslim country, I couldn’t leave the house without first fully covering myself with a long dress, shawl, and head scarf. In Tunisia, I wore western clothes to work, but always took care not to wear anything too revealing.

Even in Liberia, in West Africa, I was once told off by a coworker for wearing a dress that was too short. It ended just slightly above my knees. By the end of my stay in Liberia, I had switched over to an entirely African wardrobe of hand-tailored wax print dresses. They all went below the knee.

So, after 2 to 3 years of living in these relatively conservative environments, it was a bit of a shock to the system to return to the US and… see butt cheek everywhere. Apparently, in the 2.5 years that passed since I last came to the US in 2011, a new style had emerged: short shorts. Short short shorts.

Shorts have always been more popular in the US than Europe. I’m not sure if it is because of the cooler weather in many European countries, or a more refined sense of fashion, but I noticed that Europeans don’t really wear shorts (of any length), unless if they are children, or playing sports.

In the US, on the other hand, shorts seem to be *the* staple wardrobe item in the summertime, and not only is everyone wearing them, but they are are wearing less and less of them more often.

5 Comments

Filed under Clothing

5 responses to “Short shorts

  1. Hey, great post! I’m Cameron and I’m very interested in fashion and style. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

  2. when i was in oxford in 2012 (in the UK, not the one in Mississippi), there were TONS of teenagers (read: who all were quite “callipygous”) wearing “short shorts”- but the odd thing was, they all wore black tights/nylons underneath them, with white keds. NOT a fashion trend i will be trying!

  3. Pingback: Public pajamas | Home Strange Home

Leave a Reply

