Coupons

Save $3 when you spend $5... magic.

Save $3 when you spend $5… magic.

Americans love to save. And what better way to save than to spend? Using coupons of course! I am in the process of moving into a new apartment (yes, you will see me at IKEA this weekend) and, as part of that move, I signed up for the USPS mail forwarding service.

I was very impressed that USPS (a) gave me the option to register online for my mail forwarding, (b) offered me the service for free, and (c) as an added bonus, emailed me a “mover’s welcome pack” of coupons to moving-relevant retailers such as Target, Pier 1, Verizon, and Budget rental. Sweet.

I giddily printed them all out, satisfyingly cut them along the dotted lines like a kid in arts and craft class, and proudly tucked them into the file-folder compartment of my wallet. It reminded me of my childhood, when I used to accompany my mother to the grocery store (good old “Super Stop & Shop”). She would inevitably have a chunk of coupons culled from that weeks’ flyer sheets, which always came nestled in the newspaper (that was also back in the day when we used to get a lot more post).

Nowadays of course most coupons don’t even require printing my CVS coupons are sent automatically to my CVS card, and most coupons are read directly from your smart phone. But Americans still love coupons as much as always. Coupons were invented in the US in the late 19th century (first pioneered by the Coca-Cola company) and 48% of American consumers today use coupons (a higher figure as compared to other countries in the survey).

So, let’s get spending! I mean, saving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Consumerism, Money, Shopping

Leave a Reply

